Maison des Étudiants de l’Asie du Sud-est


History

Pierre Martin and Maurice Vieu were the two architects chosen to draft the plans for the building, originally designed with 100 rooms.

The former Indochina House

In 1930, Indochina House opened its doors at the Cité internationale, the result of a determined committee made up mostly of French businessmen working in South-East Asia. Its conception was clearly rooted in the colonial French political attitude of the time, and the building was intended to represent a blend of the modernity of France and the traditions of South-East Asia.

Asian style

Pierre Martin and Maurice Vieu were the two architects chosen to draft the plans for the building, originally designed with 100 rooms. The design is inspired by the architectural traditions of South-East Asia, and this can be seen in the building’s overhanging eaves and the upturned corners of the roof. The Oriental theme continues inside with the staircase, whose design was inspired by a pattern taken from the Hué Imperial Palace. The house also has a central garden.

Did you know?
One room has recently been refurbished to show how the rooms originally looked, and a fresco by the Vietnamese painter Le Pho was installed in the lobby of the house.

Recent renovations

In January 1972, the house was re-baptised South-East Asia House, and it has undergone other changes since then. In 1998, the roofs and façades were restored, and in 2007 the interior was renovated. More student rooms were added and existing rooms were renovated. Every room has a private bathroom, and the new furnishings are made to-measure.

Did you know?
In 2008, the Cité internationale entered into a partnership with ParisTech, a consortium of 12 grandes écoles specialising in science, technology and management. The partnership opened residency in South-East Asia House to students from ParisTech.

Maison des Étudiants de l’Asie du Sud-est


Histoire de la maison

L’ancienne  « Maison de l’Indochine »

En 1930, une Maison de l’Indochine a ouvert ses portes à la Cité internationale. Elle avait été créée à l’initiative d’un comité composé en majorité d’industriels français installés en Asie du Sud-Est. Fruit de l’esprit paternaliste de la France coloniale de l’époque, elle devait présenter pour ses jeunes résidents venus d’Asie du Sud-Est une synthèse entre les lumières de la métropole et la tradition annamite.

Un bâtiment au style asiatique

Deux architectes, Pierre MARTIN et Maurice VIEU, ont conçu le bâtiment, qui abritait à l’origine 100 chambres. Ils se sont inspirés de la tradition architecturale indochinoise, comme le montrent les larges débords des toitures ou encore les angles des toits relevés en « bec de tourterelle ». Le décor intérieur est également d’inspiration orientale. La rampe d’escalier a par exemple été conçue sur un motif du Palais impérial de Hué. La maison a été dotée d’un jardin central.

Bon à savoir
Une chambre historique de la maison a récemment été reconstituée et une fresque restaurée du peintre vietnamien LÊ PHÔ est  installée dans le hall d’accueil de la maison.

Une maison récemment restaurée

L’édifice a pris le nom Maison des Étudiants de l’Asie du Sud-Est en janvier 1972. En 1998, les toits et les façades ont été restaurés. Puis, en 2007, ce fut le tour des espaces intérieurs. Les travaux ont permis d’augmenter la capacité d’accueil et d’améliorer le confort des résidents. Toutes les chambres ont ainsi été équipées de sanitaires et d’un nouveau mobilier conçu sur mesure.

Bon à savoir
Depuis 2008, à la suite d’une convention de partenariat signée avec la Cité internationale, la maison accueille les étudiants de ParisTech, qui rassemble douze grandes écoles françaises dans les domaines des sciences, de la technologie et du management.